skaealex

“Technology is just a tool. In terms of getting the kids working together and motivating them, the teacher is most important.” – Bill Gates

CEP 810: Organizing my Brain With Evernote

on June 3, 2014

I pride myself on being highly efficient. I am the definition of Type A: I never procrastinate, and I have one mode for completing tasks (URGENT!). So when I read that my assignment in CEP810 was to play with tools that would help me become more productive, I thought I had nothing new to learn – until I came across Evernote.

Evernote is an online organizational tool that automatically syncs with all of my devices so I can access it from anywhere. If you are using this tool simply for the basics, (i.e., taking notes), it is a very user-friendly device. It took me only seconds to create my first “Note”, which was a to-do list for my second blog post for my NLP. I can add pictures and maps, set alerts to remind me of certain tasks, and I can search my own account for notes that I’ve created.

On the downside, I’ve already encountered some glitches with Evernote. One feature that I was excited about was Web Clipper, which allows you to take sections of websites or even full articles and clip them to your Evernote account. It turns out this was a separate download, and once installed, it took several attempts to get the feature to open properly. Once opened, I could only save screen shots of articles I tried to clip, instead of smaller selections. I definitely still have some more investigating to do!

Overall, Evernote is a tool worth checking out. I recommend watching the tutorials first to get a feel for the different features, and to take the time to explore the tool to give it a proper chance. Get started for yourself!

 

Leave a Reply

