skaealex

“Technology is just a tool. In terms of getting the kids working together and motivating them, the teacher is most important.” – Bill Gates

CEP 810 – Week 1: Learning, Understanding, and Conceptual Change

on May 15, 2014

This week in CEP 810, I was asked to read three chapters of a thought-provoking book by Bransford, Brown & Cocking (2000) entitled How People Learn. Afterwards, I responded to the piece through a short essay, explaining my own thoughts regarding the definition of learning, as well as how people who have varying levels of expertise learn differently from one another. In my essay, found here, I define learning as the process through which a concept is acquired and then applied in a new or innovative way. I argue that in order for one to truly “learn” a new concept, the individual must have the ability to transfer the material to a different context. I also reflect on how educators can help learners become better thinkers by teaching the process of metacognition. I welcome any comments or feedback regarding this topic!

 

2 responses to “CEP 810 – Week 1: Learning, Understanding, and Conceptual Change

  1. seremji1 says:

    Alex, I loved your thinking about activating background knowledge and using that as a starting point for new instruction. The example you gave of starting decimal instruction with a concept they already knew, money, was a great example of how to practically do this in the classroom. I think it can be very impactful when we focus on kids’ strengths instead of deficits. I work within the world of special education, I am a teacher for the deaf and hard of hearing, and much too often the focus is on what our students can not do and what areas they need additional support in. Especially with sensory impairments, such as hearing loss, I feel deficits become even more of a focus. Looking at strengths, for example a student who is deaf understanding being more of a visual learner provides a source of helpful information on how to better support the student. I don’t need to help the student “hear better” because that can not happen, but I can help them find a different route to help them understand the same concept. I believe starting with students strengths and then expanding them, like you state, is a great teaching practices in all settings. Thanks for your thoughts on the article!

    • seremji1 says:

      Stephanie, I apologize as referring to you as Alex above. I got mixed up on your name! I would edit it if I could figure out how to. I hope you accept my apology!

Leave a Reply

